top of page



Highlights from the 38th Annual Season (1993-94), all tracks recorded in live performance in five St. Louis churches. The recording charts the progress and development of the Chorus during one season, the first track being the first piece sung, and the final track similarly the last piece sung. The compilation includes a joint performance with Washington University Chamber Choir (Bax) and rare works by Rorem and Lidholm, the latter sung in 32 parts.


1. A Choral Flourish — Ralph Vaughan Williams


2. Virelai — Ned Rorem


3. Fahr wohl (op. 93a, 4) — Johannes Brahms


4. From needing danger to be good (from Verses) — Richard Rodney Bennett


5. Autumn Song — Gustav Holst


6. Take Him, Earth, for Cherishing — Herbert Howells


7. Come Not, When I am Dead (from Four Canonic Choruses) — William Schuman


8. Veni, Veni, Emmanuel — Plainchant


9. Hymne à la Vierge — Pierre Villette


10. Angels, from the Realms of Glory — J. Montgomery, arr. Reginald Jacques


11. Away in a Manger — Traditional Normandy melody, arr. Reginald Jacques


12. Dissi a l'amata mia lucida stella — Luca Marenzio


13. Mater, Ora Filium — Arnold Bax


14. . . . a riveder le stelle — Ingvar Lidholm


15. O Primavera — Claudio Monteverdi


16. Lerchengesang (from Der Erste Frühlingstag, op. 48) — Felix Mendelssohn


17. Agnus Dei (from Messa di Requiem) — Ildebrando Pizzetti


18. Spring, the Sweet Spring (from Songs of Springtime) — E.J. Mœran


19. To Daffodils (from Songs of Springtime) — E.J. Mœran

bottom of page